Greetings from S. Africa!

Posted on

Hello!

So…I must begin this post with an apology for missing my deadline to post Friday, May 30th. My travels began on Wednesday, May 28th from the U.S and I landed in Johannesburg, S.Africa 5pm local time. Thursday and Friday were a ‘blur’ as I tried to navigate through the city while fighting “jet lag.” The biggest mistake you can make traveling internationally is going to bed when “jet lag” tries to take over! Your sleep pattern will be a rough adjustment! *smile* So keep moving until bed time!

As of today, Thursday, June 5th, I have been in country for a week and a lot has happened. I visited Nelson Mandela Square because it never gets old to me, as I have visited it last year on my trip here. I also did a half day tour of Soweto, toured Liliesleaf, The old fort and Constitution Hill. Sunday service was at Rivers Church in Sandton then Monday, June 2nd I flew to Capetown for four days. Due to weather, my tour to Robben Island and Table Mountain were cancelled so I was pretty “bummed” about that but it is the beginning of Winter and not the greatest time to be in Capetown. However, we did get a tour on the red bus tour which was very informative! I saw all of the major attractions like the V&A Waterfront, Sea Point, multiple museums, hotels, the botanical garden, the high court civil annex, multiple African markets, coffee shops and ate at some pretty amazing restaurants!

Whew!

Today is Friday, June 6th and I spent most of my day at the Apartheid Museum…3 1/2 hours later and I could have easily stayed all day! Wow…is an understatement..what a wonderful depiction of all the events leading to the beginning, the in between and the end of Apartheid. Truly one of the highlights of my trip!

As I settle in for the evening, I am looking forward to tomorrow because I will have the distinct honor of performing alongside other local S.African Artist on the campus of the University of Pretoria, Saturday, June 7th! The event is called,”UnMasked”. Words can not describe how grateful I feel to not only visit this beautiful country again but to also come back to do something I Love…Spoken Word Poetry!

Keep in touch! Follow me on Twitter: @chiccybaritone and Facebook: Chiccy Baritone ~ Poet

Leave a Reply

