The Fallacy of Flaws…

Image Posted on

IMG_20140722_211239_500

I recently purchase a skirt and it had this note on the tag (see above):

“The weaving irregularities and shade variations are characteristic of the fabric
And in no way to be taken as defects.”

So in other words, the ‘flaws’ or imperfections of the garment are not to be taken as a bad thing but it actually enhances the beauty of the product.

Think about that for a moment….

In fact, like the disclaimer on my tag, the flaws are “variations of the characteristic of the fabric”…

Characteristic(n.): 1. a feature or quality belonging typically to a person, place or thing and serving to identify it.

Some synonyms for Characteristic: attribute, feature, quality, property, trait, aspect, element and facet

So, this is just my “two cents”. If God created you and after he created you thought that you were very good (Genesis 1:31) then why is it that you believe another person and their standards for beauty? I believe a flaw has to be ‘taught’ just like racism, which is a totally different issue, but do you feel me? Remember when someone pointed out to you that you had a ‘Gap between your teeth’ but you saw other kids with ‘gaps’ and as far as you can tell, it was normal! Or, you never had a problem with your ‘dark skin’ until someone said that light skin blacks are better than dark skin blacks because their complexion was more appealing? I can go on and on but my point is, a flaw to me is a ‘unique identifier.” God created you with what “you” call a flaw. To God, it’s a part of your beauty and the very quality that makes you incomparable. What you call a flaw could be the very blessing to open many doors of opportunity in your life!! For example, this young lady story truly blessed me and drives my point home! I absolutely LOVE this article about a model who has Vitiligo.

Please click on the link below and read about how she views this flaw as beauty:
http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2014/05/08/top-model-vitiligo_n_5288165.html

This young lady is SO inspirational! She used her rare skin disorder which causes patches of depigmentation of the skin to her advantage and caught the attention of Tyra Banks and her seasonal tv show, ”America’s Next Top Model.” From this opportunity, she was invited to come back to her High School giving a motivational talk to the students, focusing on the discrimination she faced. To those struggling with accepting who they are, she said, “I loved myself. And with that, opportunities start to fall into my lap. And I thank God for all of them.Try loving yourself.”
What an amazing young lady and she is only 19 years old! So I say, how do you look at your “flaws” now?

Leave a Reply

