Who is Lecrae?

Posted on

image

Photography by Charlene Evans

 

The picture taken above was August 2, 2009 at “Rock the River” Tour in St. Louis, MO. The tour went through 5 cities along the Mississippi River.  This tour is a part of Billy Graham Ministries and they do these concerts/mini crusades to bring people to Jesus!

I had the distinct honor of being chosen to have a video produced from my original poems, “GAP” and “Lips Proverbs 18:21” which was shown on the tour! How exciting! So I traveled to St. Louis to check it all out and take it all in because prior to doing the videos, I had never heard of this tour until my good friend and poet Tavis Brunson suggested that the BGEA team check me out! (How cool is that! Shoutout to Tavis Brunson—AMAZING POET!)

Anywhoo….

The concert had numerous Christian artist that included Kirk Franklin, Canton Jones and Lecrae…

Who is Lecrae???

Well, Lecrae Moore, known as simply “Lecrae,” is Christian hip hop artist, record producer, and actor. He is the president, co-owner and co-founder of the independent record label Reach Records, and the co-founder and president of the non-profit organization ReachLife Ministries. To date, he has released seven studio albums and two mixtapes as a solo artist, and has released three studio albums, a remix album, and one EP as the leader of the rap group 116 Clique.

I heard about him only from his affiliation with Billy Graham Ministries while I was writing as a blogger for BGEA “Ransom” site http://www.ransom.tv/. This Christian Rapper was getting a lot of attention for not only his ministry on stage but off stage, this gentleman had a reputation of humility and thirst to reach young people for Jesus!

When he came onstage in St. Louis, the crowd went wild and I listened and watched his energetic performance as the crowd sung his songs almost on one accord…this dude was AMAZING! But what is not surprising me is the momentum of his ministry over the years!

So here we are and Lecrae made HISTORY this week by earning his first No. 1 on the Billboard album charts with seventh album Anomaly. I was so excited!!!  Then I begin thinking to myself, with all that is going on in the world, the Body of Christ has a voice that still rings LOUD. Numbers don’t lie (well at least not on their own) and when they represent someone that is getting the message of hope and faith out in their own authentic kind of way, representing Jesus Christ, that’s something to celebrate!

As an independent artist myself, I understand that everyone won’t gain the same attention or platform that Lecrae has had the opportunity to do but we all have an assignment that is no less greater. We are all a part of the same family and we want our family to succeed and be a beacon of light to the world. I truly celebrate his ministry and I’m propelled to strive for excellence in all that I do with Poetry. This achievement showed me something else….People (in this case young people) are hungry for Jesus and still desire to be fed inspiration through gospel music, and in this case Rap. There is a massive market that understand Lecrae and he is speaking their language. It’s the language of this generation, whether we like it or not. That is the Anomaly….and God has equipped him to be one of the many Christian voices to fill that GAP….

Congratulations my brother – in – CHRIST!

 

Let’s keep in touch! follow me on Facebook and Twitter
Facebook: Chiccy Baritone ~ Poet
Twitter: @chiccybaritone

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

