When GOD Calls You Out….

Posted on Updated on

Purpose Over Popularity

So I went to my very FIRST Rodeo on Saturday, May 16, 2015 in Columbia, SC…and if you have never been to Columbia, SC, its not a HUGE city but big enough to not be called a “town”…LOL…

Anyway, my honey and I brought tickets early not really paying a whole lot of attention as to where the seats were but they turned out to be very GOOD seats! We were like 5 rows from the arena where all the cowboys and cowgirls will be performing on their horses. I felt like I could walk 5 steps from where I was sitting and physically reach my hand out and touch anyone or anything inside the arena…I think you get the point, right?? GOOD SEATS! *smile*

The co-host for the rodeo was christian comedian Akintunde, who I truly admire and love. He is one of my homies being that we both are from the Columbia, SC area. He did a great job co-hosting and I really enjoyed the comedic touch that he added to the evening. I didn’t know that Akintunde saw me but during the show he took some time to point out ‘celebrities’ in the audience and the first person that he pointed out was Jamal Bates who is well known as a radio personality for WFMV Gospel Station 95.3FM…then he points me out saying,”Poet Chiccy Baritone is here” along with some other things that I could not hear because I was SHOCK that he would acknowledge me. As shocked as I was, I still stood up and waved to a crowd of what looked like about 3 or 4,000 people! What I observed as I stood up AND as I sat down was that the reaction of the crowd was a polite clap but no indication that the crowd really knew who I was as an Artist….

Now…for those who REALLY know me, know that I have a divine “gift” from God to be able to find the ‘humor’ in all situations, and for me, that was kinda ‘funny’ that the people heard Akintunde give this POET some props but still was like,”WHO IS SHE?” [insert multiple laughs here]

Well….

Let me share with you my God to honest truth of what happened to me in that moment because that was not about me feeling like or being a wanna be ‘celebrity’ but it was more humbling than that to ME. For you to believe what I’m about to say, you would need to know my heart and the relationship that I have with Jesus…I had a God encounter that hit me HARD! It was a private moment made public because I know God loves me and I know He is mindful of me. You see, in that moment for me “God Called Me Out” and said,”Charlene, I want the world to know just how much I LOVE You and to serve as a reminder to you just how special you are to me. I interrupted a few moments in time just for YOU.”

WOW…God…I know that but REALLY? In front of ALL these PEOPLE? and my spirit said…”Yes…”

You see…for ME…my claim to fame is where GOD desires for me to be…and if that does not include a National or International platform then I won’t feel like I did not fulfill my purpose! Now, have I performed nationally and internationally? Yes, I have…but am I a ‘household’ name? not hardly…but what you need to ask me is am I fulfilled in my purpose with what God has done in my life where I currently am (meaning my demographic location and also in my spiritual life): Absolutely!

I can remember waaaay back to the first time I actually ministered a poem that I memorized and how wonderful I felt knowing that I did what God had unction in my spirit to do. My desire has always been that I will never let the applause of the claps or the sound of snaps affect how and WHY I do what I do when it comes to poetry! That I give it the way that God has given it to me–GOING HARD at the mic with all heart and soul whether its 2 people, 200 people, 2000 people or more in the room because as far as I’m concern, I’m performing to my King Jesus and anyone else in the room are my special guests:-).

So to my independent and inspiring artist I have one question to ask: What motivates you to share your gift? For the claps of the crowd? For the praise of people or to receive some kind of recognition? and the next question would be, if the claps were not up to your liking and you never receive an award for what you do or no one comes up to you to pat you on your back and tell you how great you were, would you continue?

Here is something to revert back to. I believe that if God called you out, whether publicly or privately and placed a desire in your heart, He has already equipped you with everything you need to grow and nurture that ‘gift’. Once you understand that the “gift” is for giving and not receiving, those spiritual encounters, like the one I had at the rodeo, will keep you ‘driven’ by your purpose and not how popular you can get.

As I have matured in my Faith and God, I trust what He is doing in the process of me “becoming.” I’m living life on PURPOSE.

Romans 12:3New International Version (NIV)

“For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you.”

xoxo Chiccy Baritone

http://www.chiccybaritone.com

Twitter: @chiccybaritone

Facebook: Chiccy Baritone ~ Poet

One thought on “When GOD Calls You Out….

    Marlo said:
    May 27, 2015 at 3:00 am

    Praise God Sis. What an awesome reminder of HIS love for us! He reached down in to time to share you with the RODEO!!!

Leave a Reply

