In between…..

Posted on Updated on

hands reaching
In between…

According to Webster Dictionary, being ‘in between’ is defined as : a state or position that is in the middle between two other things; a middle position.
The truth of the matter is, being ‘in between’ is a constant state of life as we leave one current season and go into the next. I like to use the word ‘season’ verses a ‘quantity’ of time because its impossible to identify how long God will have you in a season. (or you keep yourself in a season longer than God intended—but that’s another blog post….LOL..let’s continue shall we??)

***Men, please stay with me on this…even though my analogy would probably be most familiar with women, I believe that you will still be blessed and apply the point accordingly…
***Ladies who are relaxed and have transitioned their hair to a ‘natural’ state or who have heard of what it means to “go natural”, I would like to apply this process as to how it feels in life when we are ‘in between’.
My Story: I started training for a half marathon race in March of 2010 that was taking place towards the end of that year (October 2010) which was a goal I set to accomplish for myself. I use to run a lot in high school, being a part of the track team and some cross country training. I picked running back up ‘briefly’ while in college but when I graduated and move to the Upstate (Greenville, SC) that desire came back so I consulted some runners I admired and I put together a 10 month plan to train myself. It was the hardest, most rewarding time in my life as I build up my body and mind to take on a race that would change my life forever. While running many miles weekly, I was having the hardest time trying to keep my ‘relaxed’ hair together. Due to the massive amounts of sweating I did which, cause me to shampoo a lot more often then I wanted, I grew exhausted with trying to keep it in a decent style only to sweat it out that same day. It didn’t take long for me to come to the conclusion that something had to change with my hair. LONG…story SHORT, I decide to ‘go natural’.

There are many ways a woman who has chemically straighten hair can remove the relaxer. One way is to do a ‘big chop’ which means to cut all of the relaxed hair or “straight” parts out which for some women would mean going to a crop style cut that resembles a male’s hair cut. Another way is to gradually cut the relaxed hair while it is growing. This process takes longer depending on when you decide to cut the remaining relaxed hair. Everyone’s hair growth is different so for me, I went 10 months cutting about 1-2inches every other month. When I noticed the ‘line of demarcation’, which is the point at which the relaxed hair and the natural hair meets, was showing more natural hair then relaxed, I decided to wait no longer and cut the remaining relaxed hair..

The “line of demarcation” which is the ‘in between’ state of your hair is where the hair shaft is very, very weak…so weak it is prone to breakage…do you see where I am going with this?

Well, let’s apply this to human life. When you are in your ‘in between’ state of waiting on God to move you out of one state to the next, it can be the most difficult time of your life. Your anxiety to want to get THROUGH this transitional state can come with multiple challenges. Some ‘in between’ situations that come to mind, without going into a bunch of detail, can include but not limit to: jobs, relationships, sickness with a family member or friend, your business, etc. You have done all that you can do and realize that trying to prevent or avoid being in an ‘in between’ state is inevitable. God desires for us to not crumble or break but to depend and trust on HIM in order for us to experience the blessing of what is to come connecting our in between. Hebrews 12:2 says that Jesus, for the joy of obtaining the prize on the other side of the cross—the resurrection—endured the pain. Like Jesus, we have to endure that feeling of uncertainty and pain that may come with being ‘in between’. To endure means to be steadfast long enough to let the trial or in between state do whatever it’s going to do in our lives in order to get us from one side of the “cross” to the other. YES!!!!!!

While it doesn’t ‘feel’ good, it will truly be for your good. Romans 8:28 says, “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” This time has not caught God off guard or is happening by accident. There is a lesson to be learned through all seasons of our lives but I believe God’s desire is for us to not focus so much on the pain of going through periods of uncertainty that we miss the wisdom that He will impart in our lives. If we don’t grow weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.(Galatians 6:9). I’m curious to know what the end of this ‘in between’ will be and it will be a shame if I crumble under the pressure…so I say, Keep Moving and see what the end will be!

Let’s stay connected!

Follow me on Twitter: @chiccybaritone

Follow me on Facebook: Chiccy Baritone ~Poet

Visit my website at: www.chiccybaritone.com

Leave a Reply

