Wake up…

Posted on Updated on

image

Wake Up…

But first let me explain what I mean when I say “Wake up”. There are many people who are ‘unresponsive’ to how they are feeling…really feeling, about the latest events in the world, more so in South Carolina, that has received national attention. This attention has also cause a lot of tension in our Country and a lot of people talking…and some, not talking, that I feel should speak up and speak out but they have chosen not to..why?

I don’t think that all public opinion is effective but there are some voices that are choosing to not respond to the latest tragedies in the United States..What I don’t want to sound like is a ‘broken record’ reiterating every incident and any details surrounding those incidents but for those who have said,”I’m just going to go back in my hole (figuratively) and wait until it all blows over or becomes a thing of yesterday,” I want to challenge you to speak UP because what’s on your mind may be that very perspective that someone struggling with the reality of every hate crime, massacre or racist issue need to hear. While I struggled initially with the back to back events (Charleston, SC Mother Emmanuel AME church massacre to 9 black people in the middle of bible study, The debate and protest over the Confederate Flag in Columbia, SC coming down and the U.S Supreme Court ruling legalizing same-sex marriage) I took a ‘pause’ to pray and seek spiritual guidance from my Savior Jesus Christ because my ‘natural’ response will be the wrong response. Then I begin to have these conversations with my friends and family. My desire is that I represent God every time I open my mouth…Yes, it’s the ultimate challenge, but the power of the ‘pause’ helps me to direct my thoughts FIRST to what I should say that would represent my God and my faith. As a poet, I take it very seriously what words I choose to use because my desire first is to speak TRUTH and in LOVE…then to edify the spirit of the listener…and if creatively you are entertained, well that’s a bonus *smile*…but what I am troubled by is the ‘careful’ response to not  ‘offend’ because clearly, as long as you are living, there will be a time in your life where offense will come, but what’s important is stating your difference, in LOVE, and thinking about what is the standard of your LOVE.

Think about that statement for a minute. What does LOVE represent to you and how you view people? While hate and evil is an inevitable part of this world, and many people are responding because of their own fear to their ignorance, what would you want to say or do that will be the difference in the outcome of every situation I listed above? For me, I will write about it, talk about it and move in whatever direction God would have for me to move in order to bring awareness which is different for everyone. But being “unresponsive” is not acceptable…you know why?

Because there may be young people either in your home, your family or in your community that need to understand the history behind what is going on. They need to hear other perspectives outside of Social Media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, etc. etc.) and TV. They need the voice of experience, maturity and honesty to penetrate what is or is not being said. And as much as we may not want to admit to it, one thing I know for sure when it comes to change…..

Communication will always be our life line to change!

“The tongue has the power of life and death,
and those who love it will eat its fruit.” Proverbs 18:21

You have the power to change the mindset of anyone who is talking ‘destructively” or living a ‘destructive’ life simply by what you speak and the power of what you speak. It can go either way—but saying nothing…at all…should not be an option. So, here’s my alarm clock (blog) reminder to you to “Wake Up”

~Chiccy Baritone

Let’s stay connected!

Facebook: Chiccy Baritone ~ Poet

Twitter: @chiccybaritone

Website: http://www.chiccybaritone.com

Leave a Reply

