“When The Roots Are Deep There Is No Reason To Fear The Wind”

Posted on

image

“When The Roots Are Deep There Is No Reason To Fear The Wind”

~African Proverb

I love this African Proverb. Well, this is one of many that I love. I wanted to talk about the meaning as it relates to something I learned about myself through the challenges of 2015. The moral values taught to me by my parents, the wise counsel from friends, family and mentors, and my spiritual relationship with Jesus all contributed to the depth and strength of my roots!

So what does this African Proverb mean? It can be a reference to how a firm grounding results in a natural resistance to shifting circumstances.

For example, if applied to private economy, it might mean that a solid savings account and a steady job mean that you don’t have to fear unforeseen expenses. Metaphorically, the wind cannot knock you over, because you’ve set deep roots that hold you in place. In relationships with people, you may be tested through disagreements or arguments that provoke you to respond in a way that is unethical. You resist the temptation because your desire and beliefs in not projecting an action that is not ‘like’ you are spiritually deep rooted! You have learned things to do so that you don’t respond! —like remain quiet, walk away, etc…(Help me Lord….I’m still working on this but I do not respond nearly as much as I use to!…Okay….just had to testify real quick! I don’t want to give the impression that I have mastered this!)

But a few scriptures that correspond to the point of this proverb that I love are:

Psalm 1:3 “That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not witherwhatever they do prospers.”

Jeremiah 17:8 “They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.”

 Wow….did you catch that in the scriptures? Both made mention of a key point…that nothing stops the TREE from bearing FRUIT!!! Despite the change in conditions (heat, drought, etc.) it is PLANTED or ROOTED! WHEW!!!!!

My Prayer: God, please plant and root me in your WORD! No matter what storm comes and no matter how strong the winds are, I shall not be MOVED! I thank you God for endurance, steadfastness, forgiveness, humility, peace and LOVE. For Love covers ALL! As I approach this new year of 2016, help me to grow deep roots in the characteristics of you!

In Jesus Name I pray…AMEN!

Happy New Year Nugget Blog#3

let’s connect! Follow me here:

Facebook: Chiccy Baritone ~ Poet

Twitter: @chiccybaritone

Website: chiccybaritone.com

 

Leave a Reply

