Give Back

Posted on

image

Give Back

“Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, ‘What are you doing for others?’ ”

Martin Luther King, Jr.

“I’ve learned that you shouldn’t go through life with a catcher’s mitt on both hands; you need to be able to throw something back.”

Maya Angelou

“The only way you can serve God is by serving other people.”

Rick Warren

“Only a life lived in the service to others is worth living.”

Albert Einstein

“Happiness… consists in giving, and in serving others.”

Henry Drummond

“Identify your divine gift and use it to serve humanity.”

Lailah Gifty Akita

Trust me…I could have made this whole Blog post a list of quotes pertaining to Giving Back through acts of service because that is how important serving others is to me and hopefully you feel the same way.

This nugget #4 is one of those, “exceptions to the rules.” Which only means this is not only unique to something I made a priority in 2015 but this is something that has been a lifetime practice for me, starting in my home. My mom and dad are givers and being around it became a part of me. Every quote that I chose to illustrate ‘Giving Back’ are all special in unique ways.

Earlier this week, I posted this on Facebook & Twitter:

***Pet Peeve: Selfish People

It is outrageous to me for people to be selfish when nothing we do can be accomplished ALONE…ever…yep, I said it…think about that for a minute….

And now think about how impactful and powerful God could really use you if you used your gifts, talents and abilities with the goal of helping someone else!

That is what God would want. Here are a few bible verses about “Giving” that I want to share along with the quotes I mentioned earlier:

**Acts 20:35 “In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’ “ 

**2 Cor. 9:7 “Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.”

**Prov. 18:16 “A gift opens the way and ushers the giver into the presence of the great.” 

**Prov. 11:25 “A generous person will prosper; whoever refreshes others will be refreshed.”

Being a ‘giver’ and creating a life of ‘service’ to others has been the most fulfilling part of my life. I take great joy in being a blessing not for acknowledgment or show, but because I am the child of the “Most High” God who gave the most sacrificing gift to us all…His son Jesus the Christ!

So, even if your parents never taught you what it means to ‘give to others’ you have one of the greatest examples in Jesus who gave unselfishly! I promise you, in some of my most hurtful, disappointing times in my life, I found ways to give of myself. It took my mind off of me and put it on someone else in need. It’s a feeling that can’t be explained….I challenge you all to do more “Giving Back in 2016!”

Happy New Year Nugget Blog#4

let’s connect! Follow me here:

Facebook: Chiccy Baritone ~ Poet

Twitter: @chiccybaritone

Website: chiccybaritone.com

One thought on “Give Back

    Rose said:
    January 4, 2016 at 1:50 am

    Definitely! It can be hard to decide to commit yourself to any person or cause. But ultimately, we must be willing to give of ourselves. This is one of my goals for 2016.

Leave a Reply

